Scary Films Are Hard to Watch

Movies can overwhelm me, and a scary movie will make me so uncomfortable that I cannot look. I have been watching the mini-series 11.22.63 based on a novel by Stephen King….yes, that Stephen King, master of the macabre.Screenshot 2016-03-25 21.26.02

I have read the book, so I know what is going to happen. Even with this “more-historical-than-horror” film series, I have (more than once) had to cover my eyes, or squeeze my eyes closed and hold my ears.

I am aware that there are elements in cinema that cause my brain to signal my heart to race or my hands to sweat. The psychologist Birgit Wolz, author of E-motion Picture Magic states,

“Because many films transmit ideas through emotion rather than intellect, they can neutralize the instinct to suppress feelings and trigger emotional release. By eliciting emotions, watching movies can open doors that otherwise might stay closed.”

I have interpreted this quote to mean that I should keep the door open so I can run out when the film gets too frightening!

Leave a Reply

