Soundworm -“Nessun Dorma”

I already wrote that I saw the Met HD live stream of Puccini’s Turandot five days ago.

120 hours ago…7,200 minutes…and I am still humming “Nessun Dorma”.

The aria centers on the poetic death sentence Calaf will face if is name is revealed. Add the sweeping melody of the chorus (the people of the mythical kingdom) who sing of their death if they do not discover his name, and juxtapose all that tension with Calaf’s overwhelming passion to reveal himself to Turnadot in these lyrics:-

Calaf:

None shall sleep! None shall sleep! Even you, O Princess,
in your cold bedroom,
watch the stars
that tremble with love and with hope!
But my secret is hidden within me;
none will know my name!
No, no! On your mouth I will say it when the light shines!
And my kiss will dissolve the silence
that makes you mine!

Chorus:

No one will know his name,
and we will have to, alas, die, die!

Calaf:

Vanish, o night! Set, stars!
Set, stars! At dawn, I will win! I will win! I will win!

I have been cruising the Internet, watching video clips of performances of various people singing this magnificent aria Nessun Dorma:

DomingoGigliTuckerCarreras, CorelliPavarotti, Bocelli.all amazing.

From Heavy metal Manowar….to Britain’s Got Talent Paul Potts (and Greg Pritchard)

As last-second substitution at the  40th Annual Grammy Awards, Aretha Franklin sang when Luciano Pavarotti’ throat problems caused him to withdraw at the show.

and that too is amazing….

She starts at 1:10….by 4:00 she is blowing the lid off…..

I am obsessed.

Leave a Reply

