Groundhog Day-“I am a god”

The are conflicting theories on how many story plots there are in the world…seven? nine?

OR One? That would be the plot that is repeated over and over and over…as in Harold Ramis’s (1993) film Groundhog Day.

The film comedy stars  Bill Murray and Andie MacDowell and observes both Aristotle’s Unity of Time (same day repeated); Unity of Place (Pennsylvania); Unity of Action (Sonny & Cher’s “I Got You Babe”). 

My favorite conversation occurs in the film when the arrogant TV weatherman Phil Connors (Murray) tries to explain to his lovely producer Rita(MacDowell) that because he is repeating the same day, he is not only having a supernatural experience, but that he could be supernatural:

Phil: I’m a god.

Rita: You’re God?

Phil: I’m a god. I’m not *the* God… I don’t think.

Rita: Because you survived a car wreck?

Phil: I have been stabbed, shot, poisoned, frozen, hung, electrocuted, and burned.

Rita: Oh, really?

Phil: …and every morning I wake up without a scratch on me, not a dent in the fender… I am an immortal.

Rita: Why are you telling me this?

Phil: Because I want you to believe in me.

Rita: You’re not a god. You can take my word for it; this is twelve years of Catholic school talking.

Maybe it’s the 12 years of my own Catholic  school upbringing that makes this scene so memorable….I can watch it over…and over…and over……

Leave a Reply

