Frogasms…An Opening to Remember.

Great opening lines are memorable. I can rattle off a few from memory:

  • Call Me, Ishamael. (Moby Dick)
  • It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife. (Pride and Prejudice)
  • Marley was dead to begin with. (A Christmas Carol)

Then there is this line:

I was having my second Frogasm of the night when dinner got weird.

This was Pete Well’s  opening to his review of Señor Frog’s restaurant in NYC on 12/29/15. The review of the food (rated fair or satisfactory) was not what made this opening line so memorable. Instead it was the unadulterated sophomoric joy Wells expresses in the review:

“In point of fact, I had already danced in a conga line wearing a three-foot-high crown of yellow and orange balloons that made me look like Simba in a production of “The Lion King” staged by balloon animals.”

It’s outlandish, ridiculous, and hilarious. All that….and the repeated word “frogasm”!

“But … here, hold my Frogasm, I need to stand on the speakers and dance. Because I had more fun at Señor Frog’s than at almost any other restaurant that has opened in the last few years.”

I have no idea what the Frogasm is…but I can’t wait to go!

Leave a Reply

