Gift of Christmas #12: Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas Travel

I travelled on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, through busy airports making connections that had been calculated to create the greatest anxiety, will I make the gate in time?

Since every last inch of space had been claimed in my carry-on bag,  there were concerns over the size of the overhead bin. Adding to these these worries was the hunt for an available power station. Squeezed into my economy class seat on each overbooked flight, I considered the energy I had expended even before I reached my final destination.

Travel takes effort.

But here I was along with a mass of humanity, including parents towing young children, tousled in pajamas or elegant in holiday attire.

Travel during the holidays takes resolve….and something even more.

There is the powerful pull to be with those we love during these holidays, as the song lyrics say,

Faithful friends who are dear to us, gather near to us, once more .…

The melody for Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas replayed in my head as I travelled. “We are going to be together…. if the Fates allow…”

So for Christmas Gift #12, I offer the resolve and determination to see those who are part of our past and to see those who are part of our present, because without seeing those we love, “we have to muddle through, somehow….”

(Note: Chose this version because of Taylor’s release after 9/11 made the song particularly powerful…and because, like the original Judy Garland version in Meet Me in St. Louis, it makes me cry)

Leave a Reply

