I Have to Take a Standardized Test

I have to take a standardized test.testing

I do not expect that my students would have much sympathy for me. They take these multiple choice/essay tests all the time.

The standardized test I have to take is in the teaching of reading and writing, and I am studying very hard.

Despite my worry,  I believe that there are advantages to having teachers experience some standardized tests. One of the most important learning experiences I ever had was when I took the Advanced Placement English Literature exam. I could not believe how difficult it was to write for two hours straight, especially after an hour of grueling multiple choice questions.

My respect for my students increased exponentially after I took the AP exam. Their strategies on answering multiple choice questions was intriguing. Their ability to draft essays on demand was amazing.

I hope that what they have taught me helps me through this testing experience!

One thought on “I Have to Take a Standardized Test

Leave a Reply

