Poetry F@!#riday: “I’m Comic Sans, A**hole”

I subscribe to YouTube’s Spoken Verse Channel because I love the deep-voiced recitation of poetry offered by an actor named Tom O’Bedlam. I listen to his voice rumble through Yeats, Eliot, Shelley and Whitman. His pace is much slower drawing attention to the language and punctuation.  I hear gravely nuances that are so different from the voice of the poet in my head. In short, his recordings are elegant.

Today, I received an e-mail alerting me to another recording of his, but this recording was different.
So unexpected.
So….vulgar!

This recording is Tom O’Bedlam reading a monologue by Mike Lacher titled “I’m Comic Sans, Asshole”. The monologue  was originally posted on the McSweeney’s Blog in June of 2010.

There is a warning which I will repost here: Warning – this contains foul language, naughty words and general obscenity.

There is also a little commentary by  Tom  O’Bedlam about the monologue:

Mike has a wonderful comic talent. I found the original by accident here….then I did a search and found many references to it on the web. Here’s one (animated) in the Huffington Post:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/07…

If you have a fondness for the much maligned Comic Sans font AND are one not easily offended by language, than this recording will have you chuckling.

If not, then click elsewhere on this Poetry Friday afternoon (you probably love the font Helvetica, anyway….):

 

I’m Comic Sans, Asshole

by Mike Lacher

“Listen up. I know the shit you’ve been saying behind my back. You think I’m stupid. You think I’m immature. You think I’m a malformed, pathetic excuse for a font. Well think again, nerdhole, because I’m Comic Sans, and I’m the best thing to happen to typography since Johannes f*%$# Gutenberg” (continue…)

 

Leave a Reply

