Day #80 Coaxing Eliza

Eliza was only five years old when she first used the verb coax, as in “Aunt Colette, can’t I coax you to come with me?”

Her use of the verb took me by surprise. I did not think her vocabulary was that sophisticated, but  for the next 12 years, I grew accustomed to her surprises.

To coax means to persuade (someone) gradually or by flattery to do something. Over the past 18 years, I found Eliza could easily coax me into doing any number of things.

Most students learn the word coax as a third grade word, but I rarely see it used in print or spoken in high school except as an answer to a puzzle. I know that coax is worth 13 points in Scrabble (without landing on any squares with points); or 14 points in Words With Friends.
Screenshot 2014-06-14 23.31.28Yesterday, Eliza graduated from high school. She will be leaving for a trip to Europe with stops in Paris, Rome, Nice, and Florence.

Of course, now I wish she could once again use the verb coax, as in “Aunt Colette, can’t I coax you to come with me?”

Leave a Reply

