Day #63 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time Cover

CIDNT coverI purchase many of the texts for our classroom libraries at used book sales. This lets me increase the diversity of texts for students for independent or required reading. As I shop I look for specific covers, and one easily identifiable cover is the cover for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon.

 I can see that iconic bright red cover, created by Maria Carella, from a distance. This American edition cover features a  top “layer” with a die-cut of a poodle, centered upside-down, that derives its color from the clack cover underneath. It is a clever bit of engineering that adds to the other “engineered” elements: prime numbered chapters, embedded charts and graphics.

When I distribute the texts,however,  no matter how I threaten to make sure the book comes back in pristine condition, there are students who will trace and retrace that cutout until the die-cut shape of the dog becomes the shape of a blob. I suppose the cut-out is too tempting, but I take comfort in knowing that my students find the text inside the covers equally mesmerizing. The book is a hit proving you can judge a book by its amazing cover.

Leave a Reply

