Day 31: A Teacher’s Philosophy, Penned by Dickens

We celebrated teachers tonight at our district ‘s annual retirement dinner. One of this year’s retirees, Linda B., is from my English Department. In her teaching she has held her students to high academic standards. Her integrity is unquestionable, and we will miss her teaching alongside us.
Linda was born with the teaching “gene”…that “gene-ius” that engages students in the  appreciation of literature. She introduced them to Shakespeare, to Bronte, to Huxley, to Golding, and to Homer. She taught them that literature is what makes all of us human. They have loved her for that.

One of her favorite authors is Charles Dickens. At the dinner I shared one of his quotes that sums up her teaching philosophy perfectly:charles-dickens-204x120

Whatever I have tried to do in life,

I have tried with all my heart to do it well;

whatever I have devoted myself to, I have devoted myself completely;

in great aims and in small I have always thoroughly been in earnest.

Happy Retirement, Linda…..you have made a difference in so many lives because you were a teacher.

Leave a Reply

