Day 18: La Boheme-Poetry

April is Poetry Month, and I usually try and write for #PoetryFriday, but I am so very tired! Last night I watched the rebroadcast of La Boheme from the Metropolitan Opera in NYC at a local movie theatre, all three and 1/2 hours of the opera…home at 10PM.

While I was watching the lovely seamstress Mimi meet Rodolpho, I thought of #poetryfriday when he sang the following:

Who am I?
I am a poet.
What do I do here? I Write.
And how do I live? I live
in my contented poverty,
as if a grand lord, I squander
odes and hymns of love.
In my dreams and reveries,
I build castles in the air,
where in spirit I am a millionaire.
Yet sometimes from my safe,
all my gems are stolen
by two thieves, a pair of lovely eyes!
They entered with you just now! (La Boheme: Puccini)

Pure poetry!

flowersIn the following acts, Mimi and Rodolpho’s love and passion keep them warm through the winter, but they agree that they will part in the spring. When the curtain for the final act opened, my friend whispered, “See the flowers in the windowbox?” The break-up was imminent.

It was April. Mimi and Rodolpho were not together, but there was one more poetic aria:

Rodolfo
You were frightened and nervous!
Then you lost your key…
Mimì
So to try and find it, you
had to grope your way around…

Rodolfo
…and I hunted and hunted.

Mimì
My fine young man,
Though now I can say;
it was found in an instant…

Rodolfo
I helped destiny…

Mimì
(remembering the encounter with
Rodolfo on Christmas eve)

It was dark; and so you
didn’t see my blushes…

(she whispers the words of Rodolfo)
“This little hand is frozen…
let me warm it here in mine…”
In the darkness
you held my hand to warm it…

Even in opera, April is Poetry Month.

Leave a Reply

