Day 12: What Comes Around

In the past 48 hours, I have been entertained by retro music in the style of the Beatles, and watched a student lip-sync to Tiny Tim’s Tiptoe Through the Tulips. What my students find new and interesting are cultural phenomenons that I took for granted in my youth.

As I watched the Mr. Wamogo contestant Eric parade across the stage trilling along with a ukulele, I wonder if he understood the commotion of when Tiny Tim married Miss Vicki. According to Wikipedia, “on December 17, 1969, with 40 million viewers watching, Tiny Tim married Victoria Mae Budinger (aka “Miss Vicki”) on The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson.”

I also had vivid flashbacks of my own white go-go boots while watching Those Paper Bullets! at Yale Rep. “Where did you get all those great clothes?” one of the students asked an actress during the talkback. I wanted to say, you could have found some of them in my closet about 40 years ago…but I would be lying. The ones on stage were much better.

What comes around…

Leave a Reply

